3 UCSF Faculty Named to Biden-Harris Transition COVID-19 Advisory Board

President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris have announced the establishment of a coronavirus advisory board, a panel of public health and scientific experts that will include three UCSF faculty members.

The Advisory Board will help guide planning for the President-elect’s federal response to the pandemic. The experts will consult with state and local officials to determine the public health and economic steps necessary to get the virus under control, to address ongoing racial and ethnic disparities, and to reopen our schools and businesses safely.

David A. Kessler, MD, JD, professor of pediatrics, and of epidemiology and biostatistics, will co-chair the Transition COVID-19 Advisory Board. Also joining the 13-member board are Eric Goosby, MD, professor of medicine, and Robert M. Rodriguez, MD, professor of emergency medicine.

“Dealing with the coronavirus pandemic is one of the most important battles our administration will face, and I will be informed by science and by experts,” Biden said in a statement. “The Advisory Board will help shape my approach to managing the surge in reported infections; ensuring vaccines are safe, effective, and distributed efficiently, equitably, and free; and protecting at-risk populations.”

Kessler served as commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration under the administrations of Presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton. He later served as dean of the UCSF School of Medicine and vice chancellor at UCSF from 2003 to 2007.

Goosby is an internationally recognized expert on infectious diseases who served in the administrations of Presidents Clinton and Barack Obama. In the Clinton administration, Goosby served as the interim director of the White House’s Office of National AIDS Policy. Under President Obama, he was appointed Ambassador-at-Large and implemented the U.S. President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR). After serving as U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator, he was the UN